People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

In the last few decades, there has been an expansion in the urban lifestyle, resulting in an increase in the number of people living in bigger cities around the world. Although living in large cities has many positive attractions, such as better work opportunities and activities, there is also a variety of difficulties for the population of those cities in their daily lives. This essay will discuss a few of the complications of big city life as well as some solutions to such problems. Firstly, one of the largest problems one can face while living in the city is the cost of properties and rent. In many cities around the world, buying a house, for the majority of people, is an out-of-reach concept, it can almost be like having a speedboat, but not many can. With the average salary of most large cities around the globe, people are forced to live outside or on the edges of town so it is possible to afford their own homes. In a city like Gold Coast, Australia, for instance, the cost of only renting a one-bedroom apartment close to the centre of the city can be complicated for the average person, therefore, having a house can become close to impossible. In addition to the housing issue, the cost and quality of public transportation is also a challenge for the population of large cities. With the low incomes and expensive lifestyle these places offer, the majority of individuals choose to move from one place to the other by public transportation. However, ticket prices are too high and the quality of the transportation available to them is old and inefficient. For example, going to work every day by bus is challenging due to the long hours spent waiting and in the transport to get to where is wanted, the long hours result in inefficient work and life. Nevertheless, to most problems, there are plausible solutions to be looked into. To fix the high prices of houses and rent in those cities around the world, the government should put more of its resources into improving the average salary as well as creating an interest-free loaning mechanism that benefits the population, allowing most of them to afford their own house in the city. As for a solution to the quality and price of public transportation, the technology we have should be used to create better and more efficient sources of transportation such as trains, which are faster and cheaper means to travel. In conclusion, urban life can be challenging and expensive but solutions can be found in better technology and government resources.