Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be taken as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise in popularity of online-learning software and applications has led many to argue they can be as effective as real-life lessons taken at university. In my opinion, though these lessons are more efficient in particular university situations, their overall efficacy is far lower than learning in person. Proponents of online study point out how increased flexibility leads to greater efficiency. When students study in person, they must expend time traveling to and from class and waiting before and after the lesson. In the aggregate, this constitutes significant time lost. This time could be redirected into more studying or other tasks. For instance, a student studying online could finish assignments up until the minute class begins and quickly begin their homework after the lesson. However, the efficiency gained is largely hypothetical as most students are likely to become distracted during online lessons and waste much of the time saved online. Moreover, in-person lessons are far more engaging than online ones. This was clearly evidenced during the recent Covid-19 pandemic when many schools, including universities, transitioned to online learning for a period of time. The results were that students were generally less engaged in lessons and their overall productivity and learning suffered. This counterintuitive loss of productivity can be explained not only by the potential distractions students are vulnerable to online but also by the lack of connection between learners and teachers. In a classroom setting, students personally interact with their professors and other students, guaranteeing a high level of engagement and memorability. In conclusion, though there are reasons to argue for the potential time saved through online lessons, they are simply far less effective than real world classes. Online lessons should remain a niche element of a university education.