At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries have ageing populations, while some populations include a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of older people. As far as I am concerned, the benefits of this phenomenon outweigh the downsides, as it promotes high productivity and reduces government expenditures. Young people are more productive than older ones at work. They have just finished their studies, thus most of them are keen on earning money. Comparing older people with youngsters, the former may work slower than the latter, because they are not as flexible as the younger ones. For example, young adults are much more willing to work in various places as they are more flexible. Even so, older colleagues may not want to travel around the city, which they might find irritating. Probably, younger generations can work faster and willing to work in different circumstances. This boosts a company’s productivity. Having a greater number of young adults in a country reduces huge government expenditures, such as medical services. Older people may easily suffer from health problems like osteoporosis, heart attack, stroke etc. The elderly might have to ask for medical services frequently. Youngsters are much healthier than older people, and they do more exercise. In other words, young person use fewer medical services, and as a result, the expenditure of the government is reduced. In conclusion, there is no doubt that the elderly are more experienced than the younger ones. However, the latter boosts a company’s productivity and reduces government expenditure.