In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The past 20 years have seen a dramatic increase in the number of driverless vehicles. Some laud its convenience while some are worried about it. In my opinion, they are insecure and unreliable. Thus, its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. First of all, driverless cars may increase cases of car accidents. Machine error must take into considerations. When the server is not workable in an unfortunate circumstance, the sensor becomes less sensitive to the surroundings, which lead to incorrect detection of nearby objects. It will be dangerous if it happens. Car accidents, as a result, may likely happen. In addition, people rely on the convenience of automatic vehicles, which makes them less alert to the car inside and the surroundings. Particularly, people nowadays only focus on their mobile phones. They cannot give immediate protection for themselves when accidents happen. Therefore, driverless vehicles are insecure. Equally important, though, it lowers the job opportunity. Traditionally, we rely on skilful drivers. However, driverless vehicles take away their opportunities to earn money. They might not easily find new jobs in different industries. In other words, they are unemployed as drivers are not needed anymore in society. Indeed, professional drivers make up a large proportion of the public. The following consequence might be the rise of the poverty rate, which lowers the standard of living. In conclusion, I believe automatic vehicles are insecure and dangerous as people are too dependent on them. Besides, this lowers the job opportunity of the drivers ' community. It is better not to use fully unpiloted vehicles to ensure road safety.