Some people feel that music should be taught in schools while others believe it is better to focus on the sciences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, whilst opponents hold the belief that musicology is not an essential subject in any curricula, proponents have a diverse view. Thus, I am a staunch believer that music should be taught at schools, as it helps the children to be more active by increasing their cognitive abilities. My contention will be further explained. On the one hand, parents believe that learning music is not essential. In other words, unless parents discover the purpose of learning music, they will not let their children do so, as they are of the belief that learning this subject is a waste of their children's time, and it is more important to focus on the scientific subjects, so offsprings may get a well-paid job. An eminent example is fathers and mothers in Egypt who force their offspring to replace their music lessons with another scientific subject, so they can focus more on studying, and achieve a higher academic degree. Hence, what can be said is fathers and mothers do not want their children to study music, as it is a waste of their offspring's time. On the other hand, scientists and I believe that musicological subjects help the students to focus on their tasks and improve their cognitive abilities. To clarify, a recent study, showed that when younger ages listen to music, it helps them with their drawing skills, additionally, their ability to communicate with their friends. Music helps to do so, as it helps youngsters to get in a serene mood that helps them to interact with the other children and their teachers. Moreover, it helps the brain to release dopamine hormone which helps the brain to be active. Therefore, not only does music helps the children to interact with their school's mate, but it also can help them to be more active. In conclusion, after this essay has shown the above-mentioned points, It can be reiterated that the merits of learning musicological subjects outweigh their demerits. Therefore, it is recommended that musical subjects should be taught in schools.