Some people think that the increasing use of computer and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on the young people reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people believe that the increasing use of technology in today's world has unwanted effects on young people's reading and writing skills. I strongly agree that can affect young individuals ' reading and writing skills. In this day and age, youngers are used to writing and reading on their electronic devices such as computers or mobile phones. Teenagers read social media stories of celebrities or of their friends instead of digital books that can enrich their minds. Reading celebrities' or friends ' social media makes teenagers compare their lives with others. Therefore, can lead young individuals to sadness and depression if they do not feel that their life is as exciting as the other individuals. For example, a friend of mine when he was younger, was reading friends ' social media comparing his life with others' lives. This led him to a deep depression and almost committed suicide. Therapy and stopping reading friends ' social media was key to his recovery. Using short vocabulary while they communicate with electronic devices can affect negatively teenagers ' writing. One of the unwanted effects they can have using for example mobile phones' chats is to develop more mistakes in formal writing. The young individuals can get used to writing on their phones using this short vocabulary, making them unable to recognize the right vocabulary in formal writing in high school while they are learning. For instance, one person I know when she was a teenager was communicating constantly by her mobile phone. In addition, this made her perform poorly when she was facing an exam, making a lot of mistakes that led to a low score in many subjects. To conclude, I strongly agree that the increasing use of technology can have unwanted effects such as making more mistakes in formal writing and raising the number of teenagers suffering from sadness and depression reading friends ' or celebrities' social media.