Children's educaton is expensive. In some countries the government pays some of or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Educating children in certain countries could be exorbitantly high whereas in other countries it could be more cost-effective,, however it involves a cost which is either fully or partially paid by the government or public. This essay will include the advantages and disadvantages of governments paying for the education expenses of children. In my opinion, I feel that the government should be ideally contributing to developing a literate generation either by partially or fully absorbing these expenses. The primary advantage will be developing intelligent and literate citizens. If education is charged, middle-income and lower-income earners might not allocate their disposable income to educate children as they might not consider " education " as a basic need. Therefore, it is the government's responsibility to ensure the citizens of the country get a fair amount of education despite income levels and this could be achieved if education is provided free or partially free. Secondly, since the government is collecting taxes from the public they are responsible for giving back to society. One of the ways they could do this is by allocating this tax money to education. This will have a long-term impact and a better return on capital as the educated workforce will bring investors, and foreign currency and contribute to the overall development of the economy. This could be clearly seen in developed countries such as Canada where free education has changed the literacy levels of the citizens of the country. However, the major disadvantage would be that free education will be misused in certain instances. The higher and upper-middle-income earners would also take advantage and have their children in government schools and universities. This might lead to a larger disparity of income within the country as a whole. In conclusion, In my opinion, I believe that government should at least contribute partially to educating children as education could be considered an investment and it will have long-term benefits that will outweigh the disadvantages.