More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, Possessing material things which have famous designer names has become the other of the day. Many people save a lot of money to purchase these designer items. In this essay, I will attempt to explain the reasons why some individuals decide to do that. In my opinion, I believe this is a wrong development for our generation. Analysing the cost of luxurious goods, as well as the negative peer pressure will prove this. Firstly, most designer items we buy are very extravagant in nature as a result some individuals have to save a life's fortune to acquire those things. Those who are fabulously rich and can acquire them easily can do so. For instance, someone who doesn't come from a worthy home or is finding it difficult to provide a three-square meal for the family. Some people a fortune just to buy a branded item as most of these branded items are very expensive. Hence, it is not a good thing for some fellow to wish to own these mundane things. Secondly, a lot of the young population in our dispensation are influenced by their friends whose parents can easily afford these kinds of stylish stuff. For example, some of these kids whose parents can't afford these stuff for them end up pushing drugs for money, others also become prostitutes and others indulge themselves in bad behaviour just to get the required money to purchase those exorbitantly priced objects. Thus, most people are negatively influenced by their peers to own those branded objects. In conclusion, individuals who are rich and can easily afford expensive stuff can do so. Conversely, those who can't afford those high-priced goods can buy anything that best fits their means. Furthermore, this will help a lot of humans on earth to live fulfilling lives.