Young people prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news on the radio. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Provide reasons and examples for your opinion.

Adults are more inclined towards music compared to current affairs. However, in my opinion, this trend is devastative for society since it leads to numerous repercussions. To commence with, listening to the news is more beneficial than listening to music. News plays an essential role as it spreads awareness about the events going on across the globe. Furthermore, it conveys significant messages from authorities. Also, it broadcasts the criminal activities happening in the country to warn the onlookers and prevent any such incidents in future. Moreover, it informs viewers about various policies and facilities provided by the government which eventually assists them in deciding on their future leader. For instance, news channels solve the queries of the people for authority by interacting with the ministers through interviews. Hence, it is crucial for adolescents to be aware of current affairs to be progressive in the future. Another point to be noted is that the news provides us with knowledge of the latest in-demand fields. Also, it educates us about the scope of diverse careers. Additionally, it is a vital topic in competitive exams. Several examinations include a prospect of current affairs which covers all the happenings in the world. In addition, news supplies honest reviews of movies. For example,the IIFT test includes a general knowledge section that assesses an individual's general awareness of the latest happenings. Thus, the news serves a significant purpose in qualifying for different tests. To conclude, although listening to music is acceptable as it endorses a peaceful atmosphere, it is tremendously important to pay attention to the news. Therefore, it is clear that choosing music over news may proceed to a negative development.