It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Visiting the enigmatic remote areas was a permanent dream for humanity during the history of mankind. Nowadays we have this remarkable opportunity to complete that goal, nevertheless, the process has its own pros and contras. The most obvious advantage of travelling in places, which are situated far far away from the populated locations, is the ability to get a unique experience. Accordingly, people, who have visited any of the Earth's Poles even once, will brag about it for ages as soon as they had finished their journey. However, to scientists travels to the remote places might be incredibly lucrative. Different tools and substances tested in the outstanding conditions would have had an immensely important impact on emerging spheres of science as space research, for example. Curious and profitable though these trips seem to be, they are also quite dangerous. Access to the majority of the services, such as medicines, communications, and information facilities, which could be easily reached from well-known places, is rather limited inside the remote areas. Got sick, injured, or poisoned whilst expedition the traveler will have had significantly high chances to die, before the authorities would even get a message about the accident. In addition, strong health risks, severeness, and long duration of the path, all these factors contribute to the price. Therefore, journeys to these destinations are actually very expensive. To summarize, it looks like exceptional scientific opportunities and vivid recollections, produced with the unique travelling experience, might be outweighed by extraordinary costs and an essential lack of safety in extreme circumstances.