Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What is the cause of this damage? What should be done about this problem?

There is little doubt that almost all nations face environmental setbacks. This problem occurs because of big enterprises' ignorant ways of operating their businesses and therefore should be tackled by governments by strictly regulating their operations. Firstly, one of the main causes of ecological problems is companies' ignorance of the environmental aspects of their business processes. For instance, many factories such as chemical suppliers and textile producers in the industrial area near Jakarta release their wastes without filters to the nearest rivers and release significant amounts of carbon footprints. The irresponsibilities of these entities lead to natural disasters like severe floods on rainy days and terrible air quality in their surroundings. Therefore, those ignorant companies are one of the main causes of a damaged environment. On the other hand, the solution can be done by authorised institutions that coerce big corporations to apply green field practices through regulations. This can force owners to transform their businesses to be more environmentally friendly by complying with the regulations. For example, governments can regulate factories like textile producers in the suburbs of Jakarta to filter their industrial wastes into the rivers to prevent further environmental degradation, otherwise, they will be terminated. If their companies' continuation is threatened, big corporations will comply with the demands of the regulators to ensure sustainability and shift to green work practices. To conclude, the ecological problems that most countries have undergone are more likely to be caused by corporations' irresponsible business processes. Nevertheless, the authority can release regulations forcing environmentally damaging businesses to transform into sustainable practices.