Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alterative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, a lot of people are trying different treatments rather than visiting their doctor. I think this is a negative development because it causes a number of adverse effects on the health of people. There are many reasons why people are reluctant to go to a hospital. Firstly, people find it convenient to treat diseases at less crowded places such as massage parlours the homoeopathic centres, and this also saves time. For instance, a person doing double shifts at a job could easily get homoeopathic medications from a pharmacy. Secondly, they find these remedies cheaper as compared to traditional medicine, the public is also afraid of different tests such as tomography or colonoscopy because the cost of different diagnostic tests done to pinpoint the disease is expensive and they are usually not covered by health insurance. Finally, people do not want to do regular check-ups with the physician because it is a time-consuming and tedious task. I think that alternative medicine with all its benefits has an overall negative impact on people ’s health because alternative medicines such as acupuncture or herbal tea have no scientific or logical explanation for treating diseases. These methods also provide temporary treatments and, they can make the symptoms worse in some cases because the person providing them has limited knowledge regarding medicine. For example, aromatherapy use lavender to treat headaches, but they are not treating the root cause which could make this worse. Furthermore, different methods could cause food poisoning or allergic reactions. For instance, adverse reactions could occur by mixing homoeopathic medicines with prior traditional pharmaceuticals. In conclusion, while there are some benefits of alternative medicine such as temporary relief and convenience for the public but in my opinion, it could lead to neglect of the root cause which could aggravate the disorder.