Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

As we come into the new millennium, the overcrowded situation in downtowns has become a whistle-blowing topic among both government and individuals. In my opinion, although such a phenomenon may drag people into adverse circumstances and damage their lives, there are many interventions that can be carried out to confront this trend. On the one hand, there are various severe downsides caused by overpopulation. First and foremost, due to the proliferation of private vehicles, which are one of the most hazardous contributors of environmental contamination, individuals might do harm to the surrounding environment by releasing a great deal of carbon emissions and exhaust fumes. Moreover, the raising amount of toxic chemicals and harmful garbage from heavy industries or household purposes is released directly without any classification to the environment, whereby, could detrimentally damage the atmosphere and water supply or even trigger ozone depletion and greenhouse effect. Another far reaching influence is the poor living conditions such as slums with heated or damp housing due to a lack of accommodation and citizens may therefore commit crime or turn to drugs since they are in a privileged context. On the other hand, there are a host of feasible measures that could be taken into consideration to cope with this problem. One of them is that local authorities had better allocate more money to construct and upgrade the infrastructure, transport system as well as up-to-date amenities in outskirts and countryside in order to make residents gravitate towards these regions. In addition, more stringent regulations and greater punishment such as higher taxes should be imposed to limit the overuse of petrol means of transport and avoid littering illegally from factories or domestic usage. What’s more, individuals ought to participate in community projects or clubs - which could help them foster more community spirit - to raise their consciousness about fresh and clean environment. In conclusion, although overpopulation could do damage to both the surrounding nature and citizens, I hold a belief that this phenomenon could be mitigated by a joint effort of government and individuals.