Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, the number of patients who prefer alternative medicines and treatments rather than visiting doctors are increased. I think it has negative effects on human health, and this essay will mention some of its disadvantages. To begin with, some people have a strong tendency toward trying alternative methods instead of visiting doctors for their diseases. In other words, the first reason is they probably do not get positive results in terms of their disease after visiting doctors. Therefore, it encourages them to use other ways for treatment, such as eating some special local drugs or vegetables. As a result, it could be very dangerous because this method does not have a scientific basis. For example, one of my cousins got the coronavirus, so instead of going to a hospital, he preferred eating some traditional drugs. Consequently, not only it did not help him but also made his disease worse. Furthermore, the second reason is going to a hospital and visiting doctors usually are very costly. This led to reducing the amount of willingness regarding going to a hospital and motivates them to use a cheaper way of treatment. In fact, this could be hazardous, and even in some cases lead to death. For instance, in Iran, the cost of surgery is very high, and last year one of my colleagues had a heart problem, and because of the cost of surgery he preferred to do some exercises which led to death, and it was so tragic. In conclusion, in my view, using any type of treatment instead of visiting usual doctors could be very dangerous and have a lot of drawbacks. As a result, to prevent this, the government should educate people about disadvantages, and also decline the cost of visiting doctors or going to a hospital for treatments.