Governments investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

At present, a debate on the usage of public funds has emerged that whether they should be only used for public services or for arts and theatre also. Some people believe that its usage should be limited to public amenities only but this essay will discuss how it is mandatory to invest in arts also. Firstly, the benefits of arts, theatres and opera for the masses can be considered to favour this notion as nowadays folks seek relief and happiness through arts and music from the depression and anxiety-driven work culture of today. Arts facilities provide people with the chance to come closer, decreasing the risks of depression. For instance, according to a survey in America, arts facilities can decrease the risks of mental illness by 60%. In this way, art is already providing help in achieving a better health index for a country. Hence, allocating the state budget to arts is equally crucial as budgeting it for other public amenities like education and health. Moreover, it can also induce an air of fraternity and cultural harmony in a nation when people from different linguistic backgrounds and cultures come closer to enjoy and watch music events and movies. Besides this, arts can promote tourism for a nation by promoting its culture, identity and local things eventually giving it global recognition. For example, in 2010 Pakistan’s economy saw 40% GDP growth through the tourism industry because of its art and crafts promotion. Thus, promoting art, music, local movies and culture and investing in them can turn into a fruitful decision for a country. In conclusion, considering all the aspects, it can be said that it is much imperative to allocate the public capital to arts services along with other services because it can guarantee a positive health index for the masses along with economical uplifting of the state. Therefore, I completely disagree with this notion which limits the use of public money to other public facilities only.