Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in foreing country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both sides of the view and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people are learning a variety of languages based on their needs, as well as their tendency. There are some groups saying that travelling to other countries for work or pleasure is the main reason for learning a new language. Whereas others believe that there are several reasons behind that why we need to know a language different from our mother tongue. In this essay, both sides of the view will be discussed, and I will make my comment in further paragraphs. As mentioned earlier, some argue that we need to know a foreign accent for travelling or working purposes. In a majority of cases, people are learning a new language, especially English, to migrate to another country to pursue their future studies or work. To elaborate more on this, take my country as an example. Based on daily bases, an increasing number of students are participating in English classes in order to migrate to English language countries. Obviously, most of universities and workplaces have a language requirement and therefore, people have to be knowledgeable enough about the language of the host country. Despite the argument of this group, to my mind, working and going overseas are not the only cases. Undoubtedly, there are some reasons causing a need of studying a new language. For instance, the procedure of learning a foreign language could be a kind of treatment which is recommended for elderly people. It is a common way utilizing for the older generation which considers preventing some potential ailments such as Alzheimer’s. In conclusion, regarding the aforementioned reasons, knowing different languages is a skill happening based on various goals. In my view, being familiar with other languages could be highly beneficial. Together, there would be considerable differences between the reasons for practising a new language.