Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain experience. Do the advantages of this outweigh the dissadvantages ?

A new trend has emerged among students where before undergoing further education, they take a break to pursue their otherwise latent interests or explore different destinations around the world. This trend has great utility as travelling or pursuing other interests lead to more satisfaction and in many cases could lead to greater understanding of the kinds of problems the world needs solving for. Gaining new experiences is fundamental to stimulate creativity and view the world through multiple lenses. In our rigid education system which follows a linear education model, students these days are never exposed to radically different viewpoints or ideas. Creativity is all about combining pre-existing ideas in different combinations to come out with something radically different. To be exposed to something radically different students do need to subject themselves to environments that can be relatively unknown or very difficult as well. The biggest business leaders have done this time and time again to come up with new ideas and students would thereby benefit in a similar manner. On the other hand, the idea of a gap year may not be correct for everyone as they may ultimately slack off and waste the year doing much of nothing. While, a gap year is a good idea there will be many students who might use this to their full advantage and rather just use it towards unproductive activites as opposed to pursuing unique experiences. So, while taking a break from studies can be a good idea, it also depends on the self-regulation abilities of the student to actually make it useful and not waste it away. Overall, taking a gap year before university is a good idea for many students with the caveat that they actually do pursue something unique. A gap year has the potential to become a life transforming experience and therefore should be used judiciously by students.