Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed that change is the only constant thing in the world and it is always inevitable. While some people consider it an essential part of growing up, others view it as a disadvantage and unnecessary. The following paragraphs will explain the conflicting views as well as give a logical conclusion on the said matter. In a fast-paced world where everything is evolving, one finds comfort and confidence in doing the same things. As we know, there is a tremendous difference between life before technology and today. Older people are so accustomed to their traditional life back then and still prefer to practice it now even when there is already a presence of technology in hand. From their perspective, these changes are too complicated for them to understand and it is easier for them to do things in their old ways. Additionally, aside from the feeling it brings to people, it also provides mastery and learning progression. For instance, in learning a new skill like riding a bike or playing basketball, one must spend time practising in order to gain progress. On the other hand, change also broadens one’s perspective and knowledge. It gives people an opportunity to grow and maximise their full potential. One example is by travelling overseas. Travellers go out of their comfort zones to learn new languages, histories and cultures of other countries abroad. Also, by accepting that change is a common part of one’s life, maturity then follows. Individuals see it as learning opportunities rather than hindrances in life. A perfect analogy for this is death. Narrow-minded individuals would see death as terrifying whilst those who understand it know that it is part of human nature. In conclusion, I strongly agree that stepping out of your comfort zone and embracing change can make you a better person.