prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime

The histories of the formation of the prisons are not known correctly but by examining historical texts, we realize that it dates back to the time of the human society’s formation. It is a place where criminals are kept. Has it reduced crime? Or is it necessary to take other measures such as public education and training? In this essay I would like to discuss these two views. Imprisoning criminals is one of the ways to control crime and it must be done to ensure social security. Staying away from the outside environment makes the prisons think about their past actions. On the other hand, prison has a deterrent role and people know that if they commit illegal acts in the society, they face with punishment. Prisoners are taught cultural, educational programs and learning job skills. But the matter does not end so simply. Based on sociological studies, these people may learn other contraventions from each others and this has the opposite effects or it can even cause mental problems like depression and personality disorders. Therefore, according to the mentioned problems, currently the punishments instead of imprisonment for lighter crimes are increasing. As an instance, the use of electronic binding is one of these ways. Training and cultural programs are the other side of the coin to reduce crimes in society and this should start from childhood. The role of government, school and family in this field are very important and sensitive. For example, not wearing a seat belt is a simple but dangerous crime, so in my country, with education, culturalization and fines for violators, almost all people follow this law now. With these methods, many countries have been able to reduce the amount of crimes, like Netherlands that changes some prisons to libraries. In conclusion, although prison is a way to control crimes in the society, education is the another side of coin and both complement each other.