Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

It is often argued that plastic pollution is a big issue over the past years worldwide. This cause an extremely negative impact on the earth, marine animals, plants and humans. Therefore, the government has to take quick actions to solve the problem by launching campaigns and also implanting bigger taxes on to use of plastics. The following paragraphs will highlight the problems and solutions to this and some relevant examples. First of all, nowadays, the major things are made from plastics which are significantly harmful to our mother nature and to all individuals. Their lifespan is long, reaching more than 4oo years to decompose. Many of them end up in the seas killing animals. For instance, in Australia, studies show that up to 50.000 turtles have died from struggling or eating plastics. In addition, they release a substance that is dangerous for living beings from plankton to whales and humans. For that reason, they are damaging to the environment and should be abandoned. Authorities have been discussing this situation in the last few years as it has become a threat to our existence. Only 9% of plastic waste has been recycled and the rest threw out into a mountain of rubbish. Hence, the government should take quick actions to solve the issue. For example, campaigns to pick plastics from the beaches and seas as well as encouraging children and adults to recycle, also they should implement bigger punishment for those who do not collaborate. However, the population has to participate and help to create a better and stronger community against plastics such as using reuse bags and recycling. To conclude, plastics cause many problems to the environment, harming animals and people's life. So the government has to take quick actions as punishment and campaigns against plastics, but there is needed individual support.