Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Undoubtedly, online shopping currently increasingly become more popular than ever. Society uses it to buy many things such as books, clothes, shoes, tickets and even groceries. I believe that this method of buying has both advantages and disadvantages, and it is hard to say whether the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the bright side, shopping from online portals is highly convenient. Many people these days have hectic schedules, and due to that, they hardly get any time to buy things in the store. As a result, online shopping is a boon for them. It eliminates the need to visit the stores to place the order physically. One can get whatever one needs with just a few mouse clicks on the screen. It saves both time, effort and money. Also, most online stores offer huge discounts on their products most of the year. Consequently, customers don’t have to travel a long distance or wait in a long queue to pay their bills or buy products they want. Talking about the drawbacks of virtual shopping, identity theft and digital scams are the most common. Careless use of credit or debit cards during the payment step or sharing sensitive personal information can often invite spammers and hackers to hamper their privacy. Finally, remote shopping doesn’t have the facility to physically inspect a product before buying it, which often leads to customer dissatisfaction. However, one can easily avoid these demerits by being cautious and trusting well-known brands and websites. In conclusion, the overwhelming benefits that online shopping offer far outweigh a few demerits it has. Depending on what kind of products you buy, you can look for the most sensible way of buying them.