Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is one of the major issues in our society that only big companies attract most customers as they have more money to advertise their products or services compared to smaller companies. This essay looks at some of the problems caused by this epidemic in society and suggests some solutions to the issues. One of the major problems caused by excessive advertising from well-known companies is that they can have a negative impact on the local communities. The more people use only certain brands, the less their money will stay in their communities but only a few business owners. Apart from the economical results, they can also damage the identity of a community. Many local shops and businesses represent the characteristics of their area. However, if most of them closed down due to the increase of population using the big companies, the community will lose their colours and look the same as any other city. However, there are several ways to support the smaller competitors. Firstly, The government can financially support the local enterprises in a form of subsidised loans, free locations for rent, and daily monitoring. Secondly, individuals can play their part in making sure that they encourage local brands. For example, they can try their local products instead of the big enterprises' and write a positive feedback on the internet. In conclusion, big businesses are always a huge threat to smaller competitors. They can affect many communities' finance and identity. Nonetheless, these problems can be solved through appropriate actions from the government and the people.