Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been an inclusive debate about whether what is the major environmental issue should be considered a priority. Some people claim that the extinction of plants and animals is more vital than others, while critics argue that climate change is more significant. In my humble opinion, I believe that both problems are equally important and must be solved instantly. To begin with, the loss of biodiversity disrupted many aspects of living including, economic losses and food insecurity. When animals or plants that play a major role in the economic cycle become extinct, that particular chain will be ceased and eventually lead to a severe depletion of resources. To illustrate, the decline of sharks in an ecosystem caused an outbreak of some species while there is a collapse of shellfish populations which affect the fishery industry. In addition, climate change is caused by human activities such as burning of fossil fuels for electricity, heat or transportation. Greenhouse gases are emitted into the atmosphere from plants and create global warming which impacts our society hazardously. Heatwaves, flooding and storms, all these disasters are the consequence of climate change which causes considerable negative effects on all species on earth. For instance, recently there was enormous flooding in Sri Langka. The country faced severe circumstances both financial and daily life activities. To summarise, there are various issues that cause environmental crises in the world, ecosystem extinction and climate change are two of them. However, everyone must be responsible for all of these problems and try to find a means to mitigate these issues.