You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages of a ‘gap year’ outweigh the disadvantages? Support your opinion with examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It's believed by many high school graduates that a gap year is necessary to go abroad, start a business or even explore which goals and dreams they would like to achieve in their lives. This important decision should be only made by the student himself and based on his preferences. I see that it's important to take one year off to determine your future if it really requires and it depends on the personality too. It's a fact nowadays that the last year of high school is stressful for all students and some students need extra time to determine their goals after that. Some students can have business ideas and are forced by their parents to join the faculty of Engineering for instance. Others may want to travel abroad and study for a degree in a foreign educational institution which requires more prepare all documents. On the other hand, some students might have a positive overview of a field like construction engineering but when they join this department in the educational institution, they may find it less interesting than they have believed in their childhood. It's undoubtedly true that students who prefer to take one year off face several challenges like social stress, losing one year of their age or even not finding the suitable major they have been looking for. There's no doubt that education is important and getting a degree from a university is necessary but it's not a must to build a business or to find a job. Bill Gates didn't complete his degree and started his small work till he reached where he is now. On the other hand, he regretted getting out of the university because it's something that he can never get back again, he could have made some friends and had the experience of this young age instead of working hard all night. The risks of being away from your friends and trying to find your own way in life are countless. Not all people who stop their higher education are successful like Bill Gates, so a gap year affects students ' beliefs to continue studying in university and complete this path to the end. In conclusion, I see that the advantages of a gap year outweigh the disadvantages despite the fact that one should get guidance from older students, family, professors, etc. It's really important for all students to choose their future path based on their beliefs and without any hurry so as not to regret that step later and we can't build our perspective on others' experiences because everyone has his own blueprint in life.