Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary epoch, there is a common phenomenon among patients of using alternative remedies. Whilst some advocates are of the belief that natural products and treatments are the ultimate solutions for ailments, other individuals and I have a diverse view because there is no evidence to foster these strategies in the medical textbooks and guidelines. I am convinced that people should refer to their physicians for disease diagnosis and treatment plans. My contention will be demonstrated below in the following lines. To embark on, trying alternative therapies has become a common trend among people due to several facts such as the affordability of these methods. Despite the merit above, the above-mentioned practice may have a deleterious impact on the patient's health. For instance, Acupuncture has been commonly used in Asian countries to treat backache for several years; however, there are some research studies that show unknown side effects that occurred recently. This example shows that all perspectives should be reviewed by patients before taking specific medicines to avoid their negative consequences. Moreover, some opponents and I adopt the stance that these non-drug measures shall be advised by doctors and subject matter experts; otherwise, patients may be exploited by scammers. In other words, when there are no regulations to curb this practice, various people could be exposed to incorrect pieces of information from social media platforms. Accordingly, some exploiters could get millions of subscriptions and advertisements on their YouTube channels for counterfeit products that may have detrimental consequences on the physical and mental health of viewers. What can be said is that authorities shall censor false posts and impose laws to regulate these practices. To conclude, after presenting the ideas above, it can be reiterated that some citizens discern alternative treatment strategies as disadvantageous. I agree that governments shall prohibit the aforementioned practice unless they are subjected to experiments and further studies.