Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this essay iam going to clarify both viewpoints, before explaning why i lean towards the formers. As you know, criminal is always present in this society. So what should the goverment do? Imprison all the criminals? That's also a good solution, but how about the looter. The prison sentence is too heavy to them. By the way, my opinion is inclined about the choice that equaly equals equal to the crime and the looter. On the one hand, a longer prison sentence is a hard punishment it has failed to decrease various criminal activities in society. This type of fearless punishment makes culprits attempt more illegal actions. Because they know if they get into there, they will have a good living during their imprisonment. At the other side, some prisoner will gather together to escape and do illegal things again. So, what punishment is reasonable for the criminal? I think that the goverment should have a really heavy penalty like inject poisonous drugs, make them feel like the victims they do,... Strict implementation of these kinds of actions could make a person think twice prior to taking a wrong decision On the other hand, about the looter, we should have a soft penalty for them like: pay double fines, short term imprisonment,.. that scare the looters To conclude, it is acceptable to find different ways while punish the culprit rather than relying on a single one like imprisonment. Because it can ensure a crime-free and peaceful life in society.