Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, custodial sentences has become a topic of interest. While some human believe that using longer prison for people who commit a crime will significantly help reduce the number of offence, others think that it is not the only way. In this essay, I am going to cite some justifiable reasons why there are two statements, before giving my opinion. On the one hand, longer prison sentences are known that was the heaviest punishment for crime. Currently, there are many offences with various forms of committing crimes that can pose a threat to society. So, The issuance of prison plays in crucial role to ensure the safety of other citizens. On the other hand, putting in Prison sentences also can bring some negative consequences. For example, stir is place which criminals are put together and thus, they have a opportunity to meet and make friend with other offenders. As a result, many prisoners re-offend when they are released. As prison is also really the best effective way to reduce the crime rate. In conclusion, each point of view has its right reason. Personally, I can not say which is better or worse, but may be I am leaning towards the first opinion