Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A psychological illness is the reduced urge to communicate or reach out to the world due to minor defects within the human brain or an event that catalysed in doing so. There are various types of mental illnesses which include autism, depression, stress, etc. A physical disability is more evident to the public eye because a physical piece of the body is not present and it can be conveyed by the use of wheelchairs or even crutches. In comparison, mental disabilities aren't as evident due to the fact that individuals with these conditions cannot be differentiated by eye. This must be one of the reasons why physical disabilities are more accepted to the general public as opposed to mental health conditions. Upon seeing a mentally unhealthy person, people often see them as outcasts rather than looking towards them with pity. It is a habit which not only adults but also children follow. Children have been taught since earlier stages that people with psychological problems are "crazy". Studies have proven that someone with depression could be equally as drained as an individual who suffers a serious physical disability and this all depends on the mindset of the person diagnosed with such conditions. Furthermore, facilities such as therapy seem to be more costly in comparison to basic or free healthcare provided to patients. There are also wider oppurtunities for people with disabilities, for instance, there are parking spaces reserved for these individuals or even elevators installed in most buildings. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the fact that mental health conditions are more widely disregarded as serious health problems as opposed to disabilities.