Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary society, it is undeniable that technology is involved in our daily life and the smartphone benefits humans in many ways. However, some argue that children waste time using smartphones for entertainment. It will be discussed in this essay. On one hand, smartphones assist students to study more efficiently, and they can learn on the internet at any time and from anywhere. To be clarified, before the invention of the smartphone, the student will go to the library or university for studying which required a whole day of travelling. But nowadays, everything is on our own fingers which is more convenient, and the student can access the data sources which allowed them to study on their own. With the smartphone, students can study more efficiently and flexibly. On the other hand, without navigation from a parent, they can manage their time which might have an impact on their study performance. For example, there are plenty of video games on the internet that persuade them to play. Moreover, the game encouraged the players to play again and again and then they lose track of time. When they repeat this routine, it will form a bad habit since they were young. This will result in their study performance as they could pay attention to study. In conclusion, smartphones are a double edge sword that has both advantages and drawbacks. The parent and teacher should monitor and navigate them to use the smartphones properly, so they know their own limit. With parents, smartphones will definitely be a positive development.