We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed by some that people should only attach importance to issues that occur in their own nation and community as one does not possess the ability to offer assistance and solve the problem worldwide. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the notion. On one hand, people are now living in an era of globalization, many issues not only involve a sole entity but are mutually connected. it is therefore particularly pivotal to help each other in a world like this. Moreover, it can actually be conducive for people or nations to assist others in the long run. For example, by offering medical assistance to countries that are plagued by infectious disease, not only can it ameliorate the ailing situation of that nation, but it can also further inhibit the infection before spreading to a worldwide scale and causing damage to one’s own surroundings. On the other hand, I can understand the concern that it is important to help one own’s community. Undeniably, issues can always be anticipated in every country, arising from famine to poverty. Even in the most wealthy countries, the problem that arises from an impoverished population can still be observed; therefore, solving the existing domestic problems is urgent. However, I believe people can devote themself to dealing with local problems while not forming an impediment in offering relief to other nations who have the demand. For example, people can donate clothes and food to help the homeless in their own community; meanwhile, raising funds for underdeveloped countries with the aim of ameliorating the education quality and hygiene problems, both actions do not contradict each. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that people should only help people within their own nation and community. The importance of mutual assistance has increased as people step into a highly globalized world and its benefits can be anticipated in the long term.