Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Health is a big topic for everyone in modern society. Some people believe that the government needs to monitor their citizens' diet as it is a part of their duty. However, I believe that this issue is entirely an individual's matter, and the government can only provide them with healthy options. The main reason why I believe the government is not relevant to this problem is that each family has their way to live. For example, people from Africa, Latin America, and Western Europe mainly eat meat and carbohydrate. Even though the government has control over food companies, residents will eat what makes them feel comfortable and what they are familiar with unless they choose to make a change in their diet. The second reason for this is that every person has a right to choose what they want to put into their bodies. In my view, humans should be able to own their free will to make the right decision for their food. Although authorities can install equipment for the citizen in the park, and create programs to raise awareness about healthy eating, they can not ensure that people eat healthy meals daily. If they did, it will be extremely intrusive and disrespectful to human rights. In conclusion, the government can give better options for individuals to take care of their everyday meals and bodies. Nonetheless, only people themselves can choose what they eat to improve their health as food is culturally related and they have ownership of their physique.