Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the most recent years, the world has shown an important increase in combustible prices. However, some people claim that rising fuel prices remain the most effective solution to decrease its high demand and massive exploitation. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view and believe that this approach can be ineffective to solve this issue. Firstly, this way may not be sufficient to lead to a significant decrease in the consumption of combustible. In other words, fuels is an important input for transport practices and individuals still use them despite theirs costs because, for example, people who are far away from their workplace or universities will undoubtedly use vehicles or public transportations to move for their work and study and therefore their consumption of fuels will be not extremely changed by this path. Thus, this way will be not effective enough to reduce the consumption of this power source. Secondly, this proposal may lead to several economic problems if it will be applied. To put it simply, small industries in which fuels remain an essential product for their work will find many difficulties to support their high costs. As a result, the probability for these companies to have some financial problems and in some cases get bankrupt will be higher and therefore the economy of the nation that accepts this proposal will have also many problems. That is why this solution can engender many negative effects on the economy of small industries. In conclusion, despite that increasing combustible prices can discourage consumers from overuse, I believe that this approach is not effective enough to solve the problem of high demand for energy.