These days consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

With the advent of social media, the advertisement industry is on a boom. Consumers these days are constantly surrounded by advertisements from various companies. Consequently, these ads greatly influence their choices to buy products which may misguide the end users. In this essay, we will discuss the level to which the customers get influenced by these ads and the steps required to safeguard them. I strongly believe that these commercials affect customer-buying habits substantially. Goods are sold through media, billboards, flashy hoardings, discounts and many other forms of advertisements. At times these ads can misguide customers leading them to feel cheated and buy products which may be of no utility to them. For instance, there were a few advertisements that claimed fat loss with the application of a cream that could melt fat cells, desperate buyers purchased the cream and were left dismayed. Thus, there is no doubt that advertisements greatly influence end users. To safeguard the interest of consumers various measures should be adopted by the consumer protection council. First of all, all eatables must meet food and safety guidelines and ads making wrong claims should be penalized. In addition to this, a user-friendly and quick approach should be adopted to resolve customer concerns. Some countries have already started taking these measures into account. For example, India recently banned some endorsements on skin whitening creams that did not have scientific evidence to support their claims. Thus, these measures in the long run will enable the customers to not get easily influenced by ads, and buy products based on their effectiveness instead. To conclude, the increase in the number of commercials is directly proportional to the influence that they have on purchasers using the respective products. I firmly think that advertisements should guide consumers to make the right choices providing them with satisfactory results, and Ads making false claims must be legally prosecuted so that companies would not exploit the desperation of customers to fulfil their desires.