Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It's a no-brainer that educational institutions have cultivated modern civilization. However, there is always a common argument between two groups who believe that people should focus on academic studies. In contrast, some believe the focus should be more on vocational training. In this essay, I will justify the arguments from both sides and present my views on the same. Many believe the emphasis should be more on theoretical learning as it helps the person attain specific skills needed to build a conceptual foundation. Having theoretical insights not only helps the person to acquire more technical skills but also allows them to learn particular skills as a prerequisite. For instance, if you want to learn how to build a robot, you must know the basic hardware functioning and then try to put your learnings to work. Furthermore, It also helps the student to learn from the mistakes committed by others and innovate new things by implementing new technologies, which can be known only if you have a solid functional understanding. On the other hand, few believe that the focus should be more on vocational training as people develop more understanding with hands-on experience. Additionally, There is no use in knowledge if one doesn't know how to build things from scratch. Moreover, from a job and employment perspective, companies hire candidates with more practical understanding than foundational insights. Recently, a survey has shown people with more practical experience earn a better salary than one with no or minimum experience. To conclude, In my opinion, theoretical and practical knowledge are two aircraft engines; both are needed to advance the student's career and should go hand in hand to make a successful career.