Cities are becoming more and more congested and polluted as the number of private cars increases. What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a car?

It's a no-brainer that humankind has evolved in terms of commute. Although, with more purchasing power, people are now capable of buying their own cars, however, this comes with the cost of more congestion and pollution within the city. In this essay, we will discuss the pros and cons of owning an automobile, and at last, we will compare the benefits of each scenario. Some advantage of owning a car is that a car itself is a great deal of luxury. You can travel anywhere where you want with no dependency whatsoever on any other mode of communication. Moreover, in case of emergencies, it is easier to manage and respond if you own a vehicle. Additionally, people do not have to depend on public transportation and can travel even when the weather is not favourable. For instance, one does not have to wait for public buses or metros. Furthermore, they can drive out of the station on long road trips without worrying about backing home safely. On the other hand, having your private car results in pollution and congestion. Each day, with the increasing number of cars, employees are getting late for work and missing their meetings; Students are missing their lectures and, sadly, are contributing to carbon emissions which are not only harming the environment but also wasting precious time. For example, a recent survey has shown that families opting for the public commute mode save 70% of their time and 60% carbon emissions. In contrast, using your own vehicle will increase the smoke, thus creating problems for patients with lung diseases. Hence, pollution is a safety hazard as well. To conclude, In my opinion, although having private cars increases the living standard in society, one must understand his roles and responsibilities towards mother nature and must use public transportation whenever they can.