Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would help the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

The essay will be examining whether or not teenagers should volunteer to participate in activities that help the local community. I agree that the work done by teenagers would help both the teenagers and the society writ large by creating a sense of ownership and equity. Teenagers in their formative years would benefit by volunteering as they would learn about the society they live in and the problems that it faces. When teenagers volunteer to do work in their locality they are bound to face unique problems at some stage. These problems provide a fertile situation for teens to develop executive function, team work and problem solving skills which increases entreprenurial thinking amongst them. Moreover, apart from problem solving skills the best antidote to mental health problems is a strong personal connection to the area they live in. The number of friends and the size of one's social circle is a good predictor for overall well being of any individual. Thereby, volunteering would be beneficial to youngsters by helping them develop problem solving skills as well as improve their mental health. The society would benefit from volunteer work by teens in two ways. The first way would be increased community participation on the part of parents, which in turn would increase probability of local government bodies functioning properly. Secondly, volunteer work by teenagers would improve overall societal cohesion as they would now be less likely to resort to crime or drugs as they have a support group available to them. Volunteer work, thereby would serve to improve interest in local government and help keep communites crime and drug free. In Conclusion, volunteer work by teenagers would help them develop necessary skills to excel in the real world. As they say an empty mind is a devil's mind, volunteer work would serve to keep the teenagers enegaged and make them less likely to trod down the path of unproductive activities, while inculcating proper civic sensibilities and improve functioning of local government bodies.