Some people think that individuals are born to be leaders, others believe leadership can be learnt. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, the question of what constitutes a great leader has sparked a degree of controversy among people. Although there are individuals who have the inborn ability to be leaders, I would argue that leadership is something we need to learn. On the one hand, it is undeniable that some individuals are born with natural leadership abilities. Firstly, as those who are innately intelligent are able to think and react quickly in difficult situations, they can easily become good leaders. For instance, even though my uncle, who is very smart, did not take part in any leadership training courses, he has successfully managed his own company for more than 20 years and has made a fortune with it. Secondly, the public who is exceptionally talented would also find it easy to be trusted by others. Therefore, they are obvious candidates for top positions in organisations. For example, in football, the most skilful player in each team is usually given the captain armband. On the other hand, I believe that people can learn to become leaders. The first reason is that having talent and intelligence is not enough, and leadership is a set of skills that folks need to acquire. For example, in management training programmes conducted annually by major corporations, young participants have to go through intense training in order to take up managerial positions in the future. Additionally, in order to climb up the career ladder and hold leadership positions, residents need to gain specialised knowledge of their own profession. If a person lacks experience and understanding of his field, it could be incredibly challenging for him to be a good manager. In conclusion, while some individuals may possess innate leadership qualities, I maintain that leadership is a skill that can be developed through learning and experience. By honing their abilities and gaining relevant knowledge, members of society can cultivate the qualities necessary to become effective leaders.