More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Having a foreign education is increasingly in demand these days. Despite some drawbacks of this trend, there are obvious benefits as well. In this essay, I will outline the perceived disadvantages and the benefits of foreign education and explain why I feel it has far more significant advantages. Regarding the drawbacks, one critical issue relates to the high financial cost. Overseas tuition fees, accommodation, and living expenses can be very costly compared to studying at home. If we take my home country as an example, the cost of studying in Australia will be five to six times higher. Therefore, this can lead to severe constraints and burdens for most parents to cover overseas study costs. Furthermore, students sometimes have to work part-time while studying to make ends meet. This can impact the student’s academic performance and lead to poor grades, affecting their future. Being educated in a globally recognized top college or university can provide a major advantage to the student’s career. These universities offer a much higher quality of education because of their resources in terms of the level and quality of academics and facilities (such as research facilities). Secondly, the students learn to develop essential time management and social skills when far away from their homes. Experiencing different cultures and diversity in foreign countries is also a huge plus. Moreso, these students will have a greater advantage over other students not exposed to such rich experiences. In conclusion, I believe all students aspire to receive the best education to have a bright future. Although there are some financial problems in moving to a foreign country for further studies, these are short-term. However, the benefits of investing in a higher quality education overseas that can open up lifetime opportunities for the students, in my view, are far too great to be missed.