You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, we are losing the importance of utilising our leisure time adequately. All of us like to do something in our free time, however, very few people actually spend this time doing activities they love. This essay will discuss the reasons of it and will further evaluate the impact of lesser people devoting time to hobbies on the individual and society as a whole. Firstly, the main reason of not indulging in our hobbies is the busy life these days. Life has now become a race for everyone. We consider our peers as our competitors rather than friends. This has resulted in more overtime and lack of sleep due to which there is no time left for us to do certain activities on a regular basis which includes yoga, playing a sport, listening to music or watching a movie etc. For example: In order to stand out at workplace, one of my friends used to work overtime daily after coming back home. He earlier used to listen music during that time and now he has totally become a work worm and hardly knows about any latest songs. Furthermore, people are getting addicted to the electronic gadgets and have almost forgotten other interest that they used to have. These devices have adversly impacted the individuals and society and have eaten all the free time of an individual. Spending time on a task that we love helps us rejuvenate and keep our mind healthy. But due to more time devoted to mobile phones, iPad etc, the value of productive hobbies is lost. For example: addiction to a game in mobile phone is harmful as the chid would lose the importance of outdoor activities and will not be able to realise his abilities. This will definitely impact the coming generations and communities by creating a population with unhealthy mind and improper development. Therefore, in the conclusion, I would say that it is very crucial for every individual to take some time from there daily lives and devote to an activity that they enjoy doing and helpe them re-energize. Simply going for a walk or playing a guitar could be someone's energy source which is quite easy to follow on daily basis. It is just the thought process that needs to be changed in the current world.