Recent advances in medicine have resulted in an increase in life expectancy over the past four years. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since ancient times, people always tried to find out the secrets of long life and even infinity. However, thanks to technological advances in medicine, mankind started to reach some goals towards this phenomenon in relatively recent years. I personally believe that nothing is better than giving chance to humanity to live longer than ever and in this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples. To begin with, if to refer to medieval times, the lives of our ancestors were more dangerous and painful in terms of health and safety aspects. For example, in this period of history, middle-class representatives' average life span was no more than 35 years. The reason for that was a poorly investigated remedy and its non-availability to average societies. Therefore, in the case of even subtle anxiety, individuals prefer to cure themselves by not approving alternative medicine and even believed in some rituals that will help them. As a result, most parts of the population were demolished by despair. On the other hand, longevity indicators are increasing over the last couple of years. Many societies are worrying about the world's overpopulation of elderly people, which leads to unexpected changes in the birth-death ratio. For some, it might mean additional care and resources, which are predicted to decrease in the nearest future. However, this balance is not too hard to maintain, as some practices are experienced in some countries. For instance, Japanese people take first place by its citizens' longevity indicator, meanwhile, the population of this country has not increased dramatically. They showed the world, that it is possible if communities will control their birth rate and invest their time and money more wisely. In conclusion, recent advances in medicine helped to increase standards which are essential for humanity. From my angle of view, it is better to live one long life and see the world and how it is changing.