People from older generations have difficulty using smartphones and new technology. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Recent decades have witnessed a staggering number of elderly people learning to use smartphones and browse the Internet. Often enough, these aged people encounter countless challenges in mastering new technology. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for their situation, in addition to relevant solutions. First of all, it is axiomatic that old individuals usually have various sight problems because of the deterioration of their eyes. Many of them could not read with a clear vision, thus they feel tired of reading their tiny mobile phones. Moreover, the light from the mobile phone screen contains a lot of blu-ray which also leads to eye tiredness. Hence, numerous elderly citizens complained that they are uncomfortable with using this new technology. For example, my father who is in his 60s feels frustrated with his smartphone just because he could not read the small words on it. To resolve this problem, the next generation should enlarge the text on mobile phones to facilitate reading. Secondly, older generations are not used to communicating with friends and families with their phones. In our times, youngsters are in favour of socialising through social media platforms, however, this scenario is completely different in the elderly's world. For instance, my grandfather never uses his phone for messaging or sending images to his friends. Furthermore, none of his friends interacts with him through smartphones. Personally, I reckon involving older family members in social media groups is an effective solution to encourage the elderly to adapt to their phones rapidly. After all, if these old people lack interest in exploring their phones, it will be immensely difficult to teach them. To summarise, older individuals are reluctant to handle smartphones and new technology in our times because they usually have blurred vision. Moreover, their friends and families ought to be more patient in teaching and encouraging old ones to communicate by using their phones.