Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's contemporary era, governments around the globe are spending huge amounts on restoring traditional structures which some people think is not right. They believe these finances should be spent on developing modern infrastructure instead. However, in my opinion, I strongly think that governments should allocate funds judiciously as both are vital components of the economy. Firstly, old buildings should be preserved as they have a rich history attached to them. These structures help both local and international visitors to know gain historical knowledge related to the local city or country. As a result, it leads to awareness in society as people get to learn about ancient events that happened in such buildings. Moreover, when people visit these ancient sites they contribute significantly to the tourism industry. Consequently, these places make good profits through money spent by visitors, which is later utilised in meeting their running expenses; hence, taking some financial stress away from the government. For instance, the Taj Mahal makes a significant amount from tourism every year, thus the Indian government spends a lot on its maintenance. In contrast, the development of roads and houses is important as well as they improve the quality of life of the residents. Better quality of roads can assure the safety of the citizens while travelling and also makes different parts of the country easily accessible. Similarly, building new houses can aid in meeting the accommodation needs of the growing population. Therefore, when both these sectors are prioritised, then it improves the reputation of that country globally. Nevertheless, the government should think wisely and address the important issues first followed by the less important ones. For example, In conclusion, both traditional and contemporary infrastructures are significant for all countries, but the governing bodies should allocate funds keeping in mind urgent matters.