Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely known that the advent of the Internet and E-commerce has elevated the living standard and supported the convenience of humankind. People are now using web browsers to purchase goods such as flight tickets, reading materials, daily foodstuffs, etc. Online shopping brings tremendous merits to society. However, in my point of view, the detrimental sides of cyber shopping shall be seriously considered. This essay will discuss the merits of this trend and then provide further details on the side effects before coming to a reasoned conclusion. First and foremost, we have to admit that E-commerce has facilitated the convenience of consumers at the maximum level, especially for busy individuals. People can "go shopping" anytime they feel like, even during their working hours without having to sneak out or legitimately request a leave. In addition to that, Online shopping is a wise choice and an appropriate approach for the community during contagious diseases such as COVID-19. It means that one can eliminate direct human interaction and lower the chance of being infected by the illness caused by others. Nevertheless, regardless of the advantages, cybershopping can provoke more cybercrimes. As people make purchasing activities online, their information regarding payment methods and personal data will be disclosed. By that, cyber thieves can invade to dispossess one's bank account. Moreover, the satisfaction of online shopping can be doubtful as the images from websites might be unreal and mismatched with the physical products. As a result, the buyers will either spend more money to purchase different items or spend more time returning and exchanging the materials. Last but not least, shopping is considered a leisure activity that family members, a couple or friends can enjoy after a hectic working week. Therefore, home shopping can ruin this social bond in one way or another. To sum up, based on the aforementioned arguments that virtual shopping can be both advantageous and disadvantageous. As far as I am concerned, the drawbacks can dominate its merits. However, it is the government and individual's responsibility to decide whether this is beneficial or detrimental for the community in the future.