The media should include more stories that report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Should the media be limited to only reporting positive news? It is a growing concern that major news channels only publicise what people want to hear from the news. However, I strongly disagree with this statement due to reasons outlined below. Firstly, the media opting to not spread awareness about natural disasters is a major concern. There have been an increasing number of natural disasters which occur in various parts of the world. The media choosing Change the form of the verb chose show examples to not report these disasters will cause the loss of countless lives as well as massive damage to property. For example, it was estimated by the government of China that 143,000 lives were taken by the tsunami that occured back in 2006 while having been said to have zero media coverage. In other words, the public wouldn' t be aware of hazards unless it is publicised to them. The general public would also be aware of dangerous events such as war in a certain country. These important pieces of information would be useful to many citizens living in a certain country in various aspects. One instance could be where an individual is looking to migrate to a country abroad. If this person isn' t aware of news about the country, it could be hard for them to adapt to life there. Certain information could also lead them to decide not to migrate there as well. Hence, it is important that people have a platform to be more informed about the world. To sum up, I believe that the media shouldn' t leave out negative news from the general public although they don' t show interest towards it due to the fact that people would be more aware of events occurring around them.