Nowadays people buy a lot of unnecessary manufactured products. What is the effect of this on individuals and society? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, there has been an increasing number of people spending money on manufactured products that they do not need. It is this writer's opinion that this trend creates a burden on individuals' economy, and causes many environmental problems, making it a negative development. To begin with, it is vital to understand that those unnecessary products can take money from the customers. In other words, a long period of buying useless products can create for customers a habit of wasting money. As a result, those people tend to buy more products whether knowing it is helpful or not, which costs them a large amount of money. Take an article carried out by VN Express as an example, which demonstrates that there is a higher proportion of shopaholics in Vietnam than there used to be, and most of them are female. Another report shows that 50% of those people often lack of money at the end of a month. This proves that this trend has an adverse impact on individuals by exerting on their economy. One other effect of this phenomenon is that it causes a lot of environmental issues, especially with the waste. To clarify, when customers find out that the products are unnecessary. they will throw those away. Even though some of the products will be thrown into the trash, most of the rest people will throw them away randomly. Additionally, most of the products are made of plastics or materials that are not friendly to the environment. Consequently, those products will not be able to biodegrade and harm the environment surrounding them. For this reason, it is also shown that buying unnecessary can destroy the Earth, leading to human destruction. Therefore, the trend of spending money on products that are not necessary is harmful to both individuals and society by exerting on personal economy and destroying the environment. It is evident that this phenomenon is a negative one.