University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages

Many University students routinely study in foreign countries at a higher level as a part of their degrees. Although they usually struggle with cultural and linguistic barriers while abroad, they will also gain significant experience in life that will be beneficial to successful growth. In my opinion, undergraduates are far better off having studied in other nations, despite the challenges they inevitably face. The greater benefit of studying out is the soul experience that will improve them as people that would have been impossible if they had education from their own countries. Being in another country requires people to push themselves beyond the norm and adapt to every situation. When I moved to France, for instance, for my higher studies, when I was 22 years old, I had to push myself regularly out of my comfort zone into psychological states that were unique and novel to me and I had to embrace everything no matter what. Thus, these ultra-challenging experiences are advantageous in the life cycle because they helped me to grow as a better person. The major disadvantage that students tackle is cultural and language differences. The main problem is that people are pressurised to move beyond the familiar and into the unknown, which can often be scary and awkward. In France, for example, I had to make fool of myself to communicate with locals due to their language. Oftentimes, I felt embarrassed and stayed in the familiarity of my own culture. In conclusion, studying overseas is very common. While students will no doubt face social and language barriers, that will also lead them towards benefits such as personal growth, which makes overseas studying more beneficial than disadvantageous.