Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between the rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As we move into the new millennium, one trend has overwhelmed our concerns and that is the innovations of technology in the ever-changing world. Opinions are divided on whether these advanced technological devices widen the gap between the wealthy and the underprivileged people or whether this development can bridge the disparity between the two classes of society. While there are certain reasons why some advocate the former view, I am still in favour of the latter. Those who reckon that cutting-edge technologies extend the gap in these classes may have the main argument. From their point of view, only the upper classes are able to purchase the digital advances supporting effectively in a wide range of sectors. This can be obviously seen in developing countries, notably Vietnam, where the poor are not affordable for artificial organs. Therefore, impoverished humans cannot receive high quality in the healthcare sector, leading to decreasing the productivity of the labour force. This example bears witness to why some regard this trend as detrimental effects on the poor. Nevertheless, I still believe that the burgeoning growth of technologies provides individuals with the ideal opportunities to gain a sufficient income for several reasons. Chief among these is that students living in rural areas can increase the chance of receiving a good education via media platforms such as Google, which information resources are free of charge. As a result, this cannot only help them save their tuition fee but also allocate that money for learning hands-on skills. Another reason worth mentioning is that with the immense benefits of smartphones, people even in the indigent class can obtain one, which is not extravagant, in order to keep themselves abreast of current affairs, regardless of location and use the applications in the phone to market their products through Shopee or Tiki. This enables them to bring considerable revenue and makes it easier to become well-off in the future. In conclusion, despite acknowledging why some may argue that on account of this tendency, society might witness significant discrimination based on money, I still hold the belief that by enhancing technological equipment, humans can meet a better living standard.