Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is known by many that a high number of prison sentences is one of the best methods to minimize crime whereby other people think that there are other solutions to reduce crime. This essay agrees with the latter point and will show why explaining the severity of crime should determine prison sentences and provide solutions of means of reducing crime by educating lawbreakers and rehabilitation. Firstly, as said by a few people that longer prison sentences are a way to decrease crime rates as it will enhance the victim not to commit a further crime in future For example, a person who commits severe sexual assault may become a threat to others in the community hence the person needs to be imprisonment for a longer duration. Additionally, one of the recommendations would be to create awareness within communities thus educating the young minds about the consequences of involving in such criminal activities. Furthermore, others believe that there are alternative ways to reduce crime by not punishing them harshly for a minor crime committed. For instance, people who do pickpockets, shoplifts, and have drug addictions should not be jailed for a longer period of time. According to recent research in India mainly young youths are the ones who are involved in such activities. Moreover, such people are to be taken into rehabilitation centres whereby they are educated on the harmful effects of committing a crime which can result in long-term imprisonment. In conclusion, the major the crime the more severe punishment to be given while minor the crime less harsh sentences to be announced, Finally, educating and rehabilitation prisoners is a key to reducing crime.