Many people believe that social networking sites *such as Facebook)have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Majority of the people consider that social networking sites have huge drawbacks, for example (Facebook) on individuals and society as a whole,while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that it has a damaging effect on society. To begin with, social networking site such as Facebook has a humongous number of users,it connects people from.all over the world, and people are just one click away from each other. For instance, through video calling one can actually see a person even though they are far away in a different country, hence it helps people to connect, enjoy and save at the time,they do not have to travel. Furthermore,social networking sites have groups where people from all over the world share their views, and get to k ow each other better. On the other hand,it has drawbacks as well.To some,extent it is considered dangerous when it is hacked,for,example a person's personal content is publicized, which leads to a disturbing and worrisome situation. Another negative impact of these social networking sites is basically on students, who intend to spend most of their time exploring it rather than their school work and as a,result overall academic performance is affected. To sum up,though social networking has a detrimental effect on individuals and on societies it is understandable that it is impossible to be ignored in this modern era.