SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT ADVERTISING IS EXTREMELY SUCCESSFUL AT PERSUADING US TO BUY THINGS. OTHER PEOPLE THINK THAT ADVERTISING IS SO COMMON THAT WE NO LONGER PAY ATTENTION. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Globally, there have been mixed opinions about the impact of advertisements, which can be visually or orally. Some people support the opinion that advertising helps in convincing people to purchase a product, while others believe that individuals disregard it. In this essay, I will explain both points of view, as well as give my thought. In my opinion, displaying a product visually encourages citizens to buy and try out items. On the one hand, some people are of the view that the announcement of any item done, either through television or radio draws people's attention. They never forget the song attached to the commodity displayed, and also the product details(which can be what it does, how it can be used etc.). For instance, a recent survey carried out by Dettol soap showed that most purchases were done by individuals who saw their product commercial and wanted to give it a try because of its promises. In addition, it has been shown that product announcements yield more sales, most times people are inquisitive thereby buying the item unconsciously. This shows that the visual display of the brand sticks in the mind of people, and they always remember the advertisement when it is seen. On the other hand, others argue that advertising is rampant and people are no longer interested in it. They believe that there are numerous announcements of similar products in the market, thereby making them assume that are not different from the other one. For example, there are different companies that produce diapers, persuading citizens that theirs is the best in the market. Whereas there is no difference, which makes individuals believe that their almost motive is money-making. Furthermore, they are of the opinion that human beings buy products based on their preference, not as a result of any publicity. In my opinion, I believe a poster brings about a form of awareness for an item, as well as assists people in making positive decisions when shopping. In conclusion, It is seen that advertising convinces some people to buy products, whereas other individuals believe that all goods are the same, just buy the one you are comfortable with.